Hello from Georgia

So here I am in my babe’s office hoping he’d drop by from his class so I can ask where the computer center is.

Waiting and listening to the goddess Tori, I decided to look inside the boxes of books I sent him from home.  Some of them were mine and I was pleased to see my Neil Gaiman collection safe and intact.  Among the random tomes, I found, to giddy pleasure, a book given to me by my Glee Club.  It was actually a bunch of letters and miscellaneous comic strips and drawings sturdily bound and covered in plastic.  It’s title: Pumpkin Patch.  The cover was done by the budding artist, Meggy, who drew a Tim Burtonesque jack-o-lantern watering little pumpkins in his patch.  I guess the long-legged Jack is supposed to be me and my girls, the pumpkins.   It was charmingly creepy (or creepily charming) done in black and white because for some reason they thought I was into goth.

Digression:  On one of my birthdays, my club officers asked the girls not to wear anything colorful (a.k.a. only black) because “Ms. Cabel won’t like it.  She’s into goth.”  The truth is, I didn’t NOT like goth but I wasn’t into it as much as they assumed.  I wore mostly black because 1) it was sort of a UP College of Music performers’ uniform.  2) black was easy to mix with … black.   And when you’re a full-time teacher, you don’t have time to mix and match pieces from your closet when dressing up.  But me in black in ICA, it became my thing.  It was a piece of the Ms. Cabel puzzle along with my toy cactus, Pablo, and my ability to swing from one mood to another.

Alright, enough of that.

It’s been a couple of years since I read Pumpkin Patch.  I read it only twice since I got it because, even in my own company, I get very embarrassed when people say nice things about me.  I just go all squirmy and shy, wishing to just explode — poof! — into a cloud so I could hover away.  I know how to react to nastiness but niceness, not always.

I miss my Glee Club.  Those two years of moderating were the most exhausting, most emotionally-draining, and most gratifying of my time as a teacher.  I get teary-eyed just thinking about it.

You see, I’m no longer a teacher.

Here in Georgia, USA, I am not a teacher.  I am not a musician.  Not a writer.  Not an actress.  I’m not despairing, though, because I like where I am now.  I’m finally with my best friend and love and there’s no place I’d rather be.  But everything I was back in the Philippines is a memory for now.   I’m waiting to be who I was meant to be in this new and strange place.

I am in a cocoon and I’m waiting for wings.

7 thoughts on “Hello from Georgia

  1. merri says:

    Hi ms. cabel 🙂

    It’s nice to know that you are in a much happier place right now. 🙂

    we miss you here…really! 🙂

    good luck in everything 😀

    PS: yes…Tori Amos is a goddess though I haven’t really gotten into her last 2 albums yet. :/
    PS2: the drawings are love 😀

    Oh, Merri. You make it sound like I’m dead and in Heaven already. Hahaha! But thanks, sweetie. I wish you all the best in life, too. 🙂

    Like you, I haven’t gotten into her last two, nay, three albums. I like Under the Pink and Little Earthquakes best. I feel they’re more naked and raw. I get lost in her songs each and every time I listen to her. Sigh… 🙂

    The drawings are by Meggy Kawsek and Isabel Ocier. You know them, I believe. And yes, they are love. 🙂

    Hugs!!!

    • merri says:

      Dear…you are a ghost haunting me in my dreams (naks! haha)..but on a serious note, I do hope you come back even for a vacation…we could have a gardening party or teach me how to better in playing the piano :D…

      ah yes..nothing can top her first two albums. Too bad she doesn’t make those kinds of materials anymore. She has gone mellow over the years. :(. Cornflake Girl is one of the songs which made me go back to the piano again..XD.

      IO and meggy :DDDD

  2. Eileen says:

    Hi Alma,

    I’ll be very interested to follow what’s going on in your life as an immigrant or resident in America, and how you find it there.

    I’m really glad to see you have a new blog!

    Best regards,
    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas

    Hello, Eileen. 🙂

    I’ll try to write something about my life here as a non-teacher. I’ve been here not yet 3 weeks and so far it’s been good. Life here is a lot more orderly (traffic, for instance) and quiet. People are more likely to smile at you if you look them in the face. And the trees — I love that they are everywhere!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Cheers!

  3. Roxi says:

    Hi Cabsy 🙂

    Miss you! 🙂 >:D< Thanks for everything you've done for me!!!! 😀 (And the memories we shared)

    Cheesy, but true 🙂

    Hello, RoSANNE! (hehe) You’re welcome. Thank you, too, for everything. You’ll always be my ms. savvy. 🙂 Hugs! >:)<

  4. Arielle says:

    Hi Ms. Cabel!

    Remember me?:P

    Anyway, I’m glad that you’re happy over there in Georgia. I have no idea how far that is from Vancouver, Canada, but if you’re ever in the area, stop by to visit! (Just finished my first week of college…strange experience.)

    I love that you’re content with the way your life is going right now. You certainly deserve it.<3

    Miss you!

    Arielle

    Of course I remember you! So you’re in Vancouver? I’ve got family there so there might be a chance for me to see you someday (if you’re still there by then). College, when you’re a very fresh freshman, really is quite strange. But you’ll get the hang of it. I know what an achiever you are. I hope you get to continue singing there while you study.

    Thank you so much for the kind words. I certainly hope all the best for you, too. Keep in touch! 🙂

  5. Allie says:

    Miss Cabel! 🙂

    I saw your post of Multiply and wandered over here (even if the post I think was for the ICA Glee Club tee hee).

    I was with Val earlier and she was telling us you were over there in Georgia already with Sir Bronne. Sounds like an scary, yet exciting new experience. 🙂

    I miss choir. Oh, and Arkaira says hello! Haha. I’m the chairperson already this year (though I’m still not sure why :|)

    Hopefully you can come back sometime to visit (and Sir Bronne too, we miss him for Structurals haha). Wish you all the best!

    -Mr. Pringles (remember this? :D)

    Mr. Pringles, I’d never forget you! I’m happy to learn that you are now Arkaira’s chairperson, but unlike you, I know why. You’ve always been dedicated and responsible. Plus, you dress cool (though I don’t think that has anything to do with your appointment. hehe).

    Bronne and I are both doing well here. We miss UP but there are plenty of things that keep us busy here.

    You are always welcome to drop by and suffer through my ramblings here. And I do hope we keep in touch always. Tell Arkaira “helloes” from me and I hope you guys try for the carolfest this year. Take care, dearie! Hugs! >:)<

  6. Bobo says:

    I love you to the moon and back!

    I miss you more everyday 🙂

    Awww… hugs to you, little miss me. 😛

Leave a Reply

