All Hail the Beatboxing Flutist!

Prepare to be amazed. 

Bravo! Bravo! What a multi-tasker! 😀

I am envious.  Goaded by my first boyfriend, I attempted to learn the flute when I was in college but, after a few sessions, I threw in the instrument, so to speak.  Kids, I keep telling you that singing is an unnatural act but so is playing any wind instrument.  I admire all wind players because only unwavering dedication and unshakeable discipline can make them suffer years of training.  I say “suffer” because wind players undergo many physiological difficulties.  New wind students often experience black-outs, numbness in the arms and, other body responses to breathing deeply and holding one’s breath.  It’s like learning a new skill and the body needs to get used to it.  Once it does, there are other things wind players have to contend with, namely health problems.  I read an article written by a dentist once and he discussed the typical dental implications of playing single and double reed instruments which included, among others, receding gums and overbite problems.  Another article spoke of wind players having headaches and occasional retinal hemorrhages, again due to excessive air pressures produced when blowing into their instruments.  Then another one said flutists often get contact dermatitis because of the constant contact of their flute with their chin. 

insts.jpg

Now, those are just the physiological problems.  There are psychological ones, too.  Case in point, when I typed “reed players dental problems” on Google, I was asked, “Did you mean: reed players mental problems?”  I almost laughed out loud.  I don’t know about mental problems but I do know lots of musicians who have emotional problems, reed players et al.   All that practicing made many of us socially inept and, without our instruments, we feel vulnerable as newborn babes.  We especially go through this when we’re younger (tween and teen years) when everyone is still trying to find their place and fit in in social circles.  By the time we’re experts or professionals and have more time to socialize, we find that we can’t because we never properly learned to. But that’s the pay-off of being a musician. 

Everything people do in life has a pay-off; it just so happens this is what some of us have chosen and, despite dental, mental and, many other problems, we will always deem and declare and  that we have chosen well.   

My Sources:
I discovered the YouTube clip at http://ryandupre.wordpress.com/. 🙂
Aural References (listen to short performances by each instrument):
http://datadragon.com/education/instruments/winds.shtml 
Physiological Problems:
http://tigger.uic.edu/sph/glakes/harts1/HARTS_library/musichaz.txt
http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/doi/abs/10.1046/j.1365-4362.1999.00656.x
http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=416484 
Hey, kid! Give yourself a chance to excel.  Please do not plagiarize.
5 thoughts on “All Hail the Beatboxing Flutist!

  1. elementaryteacher says:

    As a flute player myself, who now suffers contact dermatitis (I didn’t have the problem in high school, but later developed an allergy to nickel, and my flute is plated in chrome, which apparently contains nickel), I can offer a simple and inexpensive solution to this problem. Take some clear nail polish and paint it all over the part of the mouthpiece that comes into contact with the face. Let it dry hard and go ahead and put on two or three coats. I haven’t had to redo the coats in months, and it completely solved all my problems.

    Eileen

    I’ve heard of that from a flautist I know and it worked for her. Unfortunately, some people are allergic to nail polish, too, and it didn’t work for a couple of players we knew. Thanks for sharing, Eileen! (By the way, I notice that your URL is empty. It might be the reason why your link doesn’t work. It’s a real handy way for people to get to your blog. 🙂 I’ll fill in this one for you but I think you need to check your profile and type it there.)

  2. ET says:

    That was simply incredible. One word: Wow! Now I know why I never wanted to take flute.

    It was, wasn’t it? “Wow” is a good one word for it.:)

  3. joefelso says:

    Great clip.

    There’s an urban myth that oboists suffer a disproportionate amount of aneurysms and mental illness due to the pressure required to play their instrument, but, according to the great and powerful web, that’s just not true.

    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Oboe-2282/oboe-playing-health.htm

    I’d think playing an instrument would be an aid to mental illness, and mental illness likely gets in the way of practice.

    Hello! I guess if you’re genetically predisposed to aneurysms then playing the oboe might not help matters. All that blowing between two thin reeds can be very demanding on the body, but then it’s better not to generalize. I agree with your thoughts on mental health. God knows I’ve met many talented classmates who dropped out because of emotional/psychological problems. Music was their solace but the demands of studying it took its toll on their mental health, but I know, school or no school, they’re out there still making music. Thank you for the link 😀 and for dropping by!

  4. Grace says:

    lol the wonders of youtube. ang astig talaga ng flutist na yan! pero panalo pa rin yung flight of the bumblebee niya. Pulang pula na siya pagkatapos!

    my boyfriend plays the sax pero ok naman siya…….. wahahahahaha

    Astig talaga! I’m in love with this guy. If he comes here I’m going to ask him to marry me.

    😐 Me <= super serious.

    Uuuy, you have a boyfriend. (Yun yung nag-register sa utak eh, hindi yung nagsa-sax siya.) hehehehe! 😀

  5. Grace Tee says:

    hey! i’m really(x100) interested in beatboxing with the flute but it seems that no one knows how to here… i’ve learnt up the flute by joining the school band but unfortunately they don’t know what is beatboxing…could anyone in this big wide world help a desperate me?…if you are kind enough to advice me on this mater od even better teach me…..pls send me a mail at “emotionalgirl12345@live.com”……i’ll appreciate it very much

Leave a Reply

